

## News Release

## 2016 IOWA FFA SECRETARY'S BOOK CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

88th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Secretary's Book Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 18, 2016. Twelve Chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event (CDE). The first place chapter for the event was the Waverly-Shell Rock FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. David Carlson. The second place chapter for the event was the Osceola Big Chief FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mrs. Brandi Boyd.

The Secretary's Book CDE requires the Chapter Secretary to keep complete and accurate records of the chapter's activities. Chapter Secretaries must include the chapter FFA roster, meeting agendas, meeting minutes, committee reports, and copies of all chapter correspondence. The Iowa FFA Secretary's Book CDE was made possible with support from the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the Secretary's Book CDE are listed below.

###

## About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,800 student members as part of 226 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Place FFA Member Name(s)		Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Katie Stewart	Waverly	Gold
2	Rachel Severns and Carter Wilken	Osceola	Gold
3	Benjamin Kolbe and Alli Crump	Lake View	Gold
4	Meghan Crall	Albia	Gold
	Danika Tindall	Akron	Silver
	Ashley Schwartzhoff	Decorah	Silver
	CD Brinegar	Eddyville	Silver
	Alayna Vantiger and Brock Stover	Mediapolis	Silver

## **Iowa FFA Association -- 2**

Mason Claude and Jordan Tanner	Webster City	Silver
Diana Berggren	Corning	Bronze
Landon Foster	Guthrie Center	Bronze
Lexis Kalkwarf	Latimer	Bronze